Recognizing the achievements of BC dance artists.

The Dance Centre’s awards recognize and support emerging, mid-career and established artists.

Helen Walkley poses mid performance

The Isadora Award

Initiated by The Dance Centre in 1999, the Award has evolved to a new format in 2020, acknowledging an artist’s contribution to the milieu through a specific choreographic work for live performance.
Photo: Helen Walkley


Award Recipients

2020: Helen Walkley
2018: Julia Taffe
2017: Serge Bennathan
2016: Karen Jamieson
2015: Jennifer Mascall
2013: Ziyian Kwan
2012: Su-Feh Lee
2010: Paras Terezakis (choreography), David Raymond (performance)
2009: Rosario Ancer (choreography), Natalie LeFebvre-Gnam (performance), Barbara Bourget (teaching)
2008: Lola MacLaughlin (choreography), Noam Gagnon (performance)
2007: Wen Wei Wang (choreography), Alison Denham (performance), Judith Garay (teaching)
2006: Joe Laughlin (choreography), Ron Stewart (performance), Jai Govinda (teaching)
2005: Crystal Pite (choreography)
2004: Chick Snipper (choreography), Anne Cooper (performance), Peter Bingham (teaching)
2003: Kathleen McDonagh (performance)
1999: Susan Elliott (performance)
View More
Headshot of dance artist Shion Skye Carter

The Iris Garland Emerging Choreographer Award

This Award is valued at $5,000 and is presented every two years to an emerging dance artist between the ages of 19-35 who demonstrates exceptional choreographic ability and the potential to realize a future in the creative realm of dance.
Photo Shion Skye Carter/Bee Kent


Award Recipients

2021: Shion Skye Carter
2019: Jamie Robinson
2017: Julianne Chapple
2015: Deanna Peters
2013: Vanessa Goodman
2011: Shannon Moreno
2009: Sara Coffin
2007: Chengxin Wei
2005: Amber Funk Barton
Portrait of Lola MacLaughlin

The Lola Award

This biennial award is designed to encourage and facilitate the work of senior/mid-career choreographers. Named in memory of the much-loved choreographer and Artistic Director who passed away in 2009, it is supported by the Lola MacLaughlin Endowment Fund with the Vancouver Foundation and administered by The Dance Centre.
Photo Lola MacLaughlin/Nick Seiflow


Award Recipients

2020: Paras Terezakis
2018: Justine A. Chambers
2016: Rosario Ancer
2014: Su-Feh Lee
2012: Crystal Pite

Support our awards programs

Donate to support an award or fund.

Make a Nomination or Apply for an Award

A call for nominations and submissions is announced each fall.