Recognizing the achievements of BC dance artists.

The Isadora Award

Celebrating Excellence in BC’s Dance Community

Initiated by The Dance Centre in 1999, the Isadora Award has evolved from peer recognition of an artist’s lifetime achievement to its new iteration in 2020 of acknowledging an artist’s contribution to the milieu through their choreographic work of a specific live performance. Due to the pandemic, works streamed for an audience are also eligible.

The re-imagined Isadora Award recognizes a British Columbia-based choreographer for outstanding choreography of a new full-length work performed within the province from September 01, 2020 to July 18, 2021. The award is open to established choreographers of all traditions and genres. The recipient will receive a specially-designed award created by renowned glass sculptor Mary Filer, a cash award of $2,500 and access to studio time at Scotiabank Dance Centre towards the creation of a new work.

To be considered, the work must meet the following criteria:

  •  Works must be premiere live or streamed performances
  •  Works must be new full-length (at least 30 minutes) pieces performed September 01, 2020 to July 18, 2021
  •  Works must be performed within a public context (stage or site-specific)

And the artist must:

  • Be an established British Columbia based choreographer with over 10 years of creation and presentation history
  • Be recognized as author and primary creator
  • Demonstrate continued career development through creation and presentation
  • Ensure all contributing artists are paid for their work
  • Be a member of The Dance Centre in good standing at the time of application

How to Apply:

Please submit a CV, choreographer and/or company website link (if applicable), statement (500 words maximum) outlining why you feel the work should be considered for the award and a link to video documentation of the new full-length work to awards[at]

For more information email: programming[at]

Submissions for 2021 are now closed.


A jury of dance professionals will select a recipient in summer 2021, with the public announcement to be made in Fall 2021.